9 Facebookers (try to) Talk Sports Talk

In order to get a better understanding of what sport personalities people other than my immediate friends and family are listening to, I turned to Facebook.  With a little over a thousand friends on the site, I thought I was going to receive some pretty profound information.  Instead, I was limited to 9 comments, and only a few of the responses were relative to what I was looking for.  See for yourself:

Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 5.47.07 PM.png


Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 5.47.38 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 5.47.49 PM.png

Just to clarify, when I said personalities, I wasn’t necessarily looking for players, but more so the anchors, commentators, reporters, etc, but that was a miscommunication on my part.

Don’t get me wrong, I was definitely interested to hear what everyone had to say, and I couldn’t be more thankful for those who took the time to think about my question, regardless of whether it helped or not.

Although I didn’t quite find what I was looking for, I see no failures here.  Each person uniquely articulated their reasons for being fans of their respective personality.  In regards to Ron Darling, Keith Hernandez, and Gary Cohen, one of my friends backed up another’s statement, “It’s like they’re part of the team too.”

I had never thought of the broadcast team as being a part of the actual sports team, and I have to admit I feel like a fool for never giving them that credit.

Since starting this blog, I’ve gotten to talk to some pretty significant people, and the more I learn about their roles in the sports industry, the more I’ve realized how essential they are to the game itself.

Could you imagine watching a game on television in silence?  It might seem nice at first if you think about it, but I can almost guarantee that after 10 minutes of no commentary, no play-by-play, no analysis, ratings would plummet.

How boring would it be if every sports writer, only gave a brief synopsis of what happened and didn’t take an angle, or predict the results of the next match-up?  No one would read what he has to say, and certainly no one would know his name.

All I’m saying is let’s give some credit where credit is due.

Are there any sports personalities my various friends/classmates/coworkers/etc. missed? Leave your favorite sports “talker” and why in the comments.  You know I’d love to hear your thoughts.

 

 

Leave a Reply

