ESPN Layoffs Cut Some Of The Biggest Names In Sports Journalism – Updated List Of Cuts Includes Ed Werder

Source: ESPN Layoffs Cut Some Of The Biggest Names In Sports Journalism – Updated List Of Cuts Includes Ed Werder

With graduation in 17 days (I’m not counting, you are), I can’t help but be a little discouraged after reading this.

100 members of the greatest sports media conglomerate were laid off this morning, and I’m expected to feel anything other than dread as I attempt to answer that same job market?

I’m not naive, and I know that the unemployment period is worse than people let on, but where I once had at least a shred of hope, I can’t help but feel panic.

But this isn’t about me.  Instead, let’s focus on the 100 talented analysts, writers, personalities, etc. woke up to news this morning that their days with ESPN were over.

Due to the recent rise in popularity of mobile apps such as AtBat, The NFL App, etc. ESPN has seen a significant decrease in followers over the course of the past few years.

Some of the more notable layoffs include Ed Werder, Jayson Stark, and Trent Dilfer.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

I wanted to see what other EPSN fans had to say about all the layoffs, but was sidetracked by the trending tweets that broke my heart.

I understand that every company when they’re hurting financially has to make cuts.  I just never would have expected such a media powerhouse to be struggling so much.  To be quite honest, until today I had no idea they were in such a state.

ESPN has been a crucial part of my life.  I’ve watched more Sports Center than I can fathom.  My morning cups of coffee with my dad wouldn’t be the same without ESPN on in the background for us to comment on here and there.

To those who are no longer with ESPN, even those who may have gone unnoticed, I know I’m not much, but I wish you all the luck in your futures and hope that ESPN was only a stepping stone in your careers.

Leave a Reply

